title

Keeping boars in with piglets?

HOME Forums Hog How-To's Keeping boars in with piglets?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  largebla 5 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

largebla
    Keymaster

Hello! My neighbor who bought one of our gilts was wondering if (or at what point) he needed to separate his young boar from his gilt as her farrowing nears. I know that last season our escape artist piglets got into our boar’s paddock all the time and he was extremely gentle with them, but I don’t know how it would go if they were all in together 24-7. My neighbor free feeds, so the boar wouldn’t be taking food from the growing piglets or nurshing sow, and the two are very fond of each other. Do any of you have experience with keeping a boar in there with the farrowing sow the whole time? I’m very new at this, so sorry if this is an obvious question. Thank you so much for your advice!

~Amy

#17724 Reply
    Member: MO chhogs
    chhogs
    Participant

Hi Amy,

I wouldn’t worry about separating them. You will find that the boar will be just as gentle when he sits/lies down as the sow is. The only thing that might happen is that the boar may think the gilt is back in heat when she has just farrowed – hormones all messed up & so he will be a pest. This does not happen all the time – in fact we have only one boar that does that!

In all this, of course there are exceptions so you really have to know your animals to know how they are going to do. If I was your neighbor I would leave them together, see how it goes & then only move him out if he creates a problem.

Most times the LB boars are very tolerant of babies under their feet.

All the best,

Liz

http://www.cornishheritagehogs.com

Missouri

#17725 Reply

largebla
    Keymaster

Thank you Liz! That’s really helpful 🙂

~Amy

#17731 Reply

largebla
    Keymaster