title

Are my Gilts Pregnant?

HOME Forums Hog How-To's Are my Gilts Pregnant?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Registrar Registrar 2 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Bobralphsfarm
    Participant

I have three gilts with a boar. They were all born early July 2014. Today is about one year later and they have all grown up together. Also, I am new to pigs and chose the Large Black based on recommendations. I am loving it so far!!

Anyhow, I am curious if the ladies are pregnant. I have been watching their Clitoral hoods and have noticed them horizontal instead of pointing down. Also, their breasts have changed in the last week or so.

First Pig

Second Pig

Teats

Teats2

Teats2

• This topic was modified 2 years, 1 month ago by  Bobralphsfarm.
    • This topic was modified 2 years, 1 month ago by  Bobralphsfarm.
    #20984 Reply
    Member: WI NorthernMarsh
    NorthernMarsh
    Participant

I’ve found the “pregnancy switch” to be unreliable with the Large Blacks.

That said, it sure looks like she’s developing the baby line along the abdomen. I would guess she’s bred

#20985 Reply

Bobralphsfarm
    Participant

Thank you! I will reply back when she has her piglets.

#20988 Reply
    Registrar
    Registrar