title

pasture destruction

HOME Forums General pasture destruction

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Harvey Work 4 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Sas Weber
    Participant

I would love to hear from anyone in a brittle climate such as mine (SW Montana, less that 15″ rainfall per year), how they recover pasture that hogs have rooted in when there is no grass. This is my first year w the Large Blacks, i’ve had two since June. There was little rooting when grass was plentiful. This was an exceptionally dry year, but even in normal years, there are probably 8 – 10 weeks of the year or more in which there is nothing green in the pastures but neither is there snow cover. We are in the midst of that time now, and have recently had some moisture so the ground is soft. The hogs are going crazy rooting and snuffling and digging. I will have to reseed and irrigate to get this area back into pasture. Does everyone have this problem? Is it mainly in a dry climate such as this when there are long periods w/o forage? Are nose rings an option? Any thoughts would be helpful. I’m feeling very discouraged about the whole venture at this point, although the gilts are as happy as can be.
    Thanks!

#18252 Reply

president
    Participant

Sas

In my experience the younger animals will tear things up more than an adult. However, when there is little grass cover they will take a look for other thing to eat. They all root to some extent especially when the ground is wet after the grass has gone. We had a similar issue when we lived in MT, but we found that they settled down as they aged. We also found that out of all of the breeds we raised the LBs rooted less as adults.

Stick with it 🙂

Richard

#18264 Reply

Sas Weber
    Participant

Thank you Mr. President.
    What are your thoughts on the use of nose rings to prevent rooting.
    At about what age did you notice the decline in rooting?